Joint Commission Deletes 51 Elements of Performance in Hospital Accreditation Standards

PUBLISHED: Sep 28, 2016

The Joint Commission has announced that, effective January 1, 2017 they are deleting 51 Elements of Performance (EPs) in their Hospital Accreditation Program standards.

The deletions are the result of TJC’s multi-phase initiative to streamline HAP standards. According to TJC, the deleted EPs selected because they are:

  • Similar to, implicit in, or duplicative of other existing EPs
  • Covered by other standards and are a routine part of operations or clinical care processes.
  • They no longer address contemporary quality and safety concerns, and how they are managed can be left to the discretion of the organization.
  • They are adequately addressed by law and regulation or other external requirements, so separate Joint Commission requirements are not needed.

There are deletions in the following chapters within the HAP standards:

  • Environment of Care
  • Human Resources
  • Leadership
  • Medical Management
  • Nursing
  • Provision of Care, Treatment and Services
  • Record of Care, Treatment and Services
  • Rights and Responsibilities of the Individual

Want to read the full alert and receive alert emails?

Browse Additional Alerts